New, larger Woking Liberal Democrat Group take their seats

May 18, 2019 12:00 AM

New, larger Woking Liberal Democrat Group take their seats
Thursday 16th May was the first council meeting of the municipal year in Woking. This meeting elects a new Mayor and Deputy and hands out certificates to retiring councillors.

The new, larger Liberal Democrat group of 10, were all in attendance. Cllr Rob Leach and Cllr James Sanderson joined the group following their election victories and Cllr Will Forster returned to the group after his year as Mayor.

Cllr Ann-Marie Barker seconded the nomination of Cllr Hunwicks as Mayor for 2019/20. Recent addition to the Liberal Democrat group from the Conservatives, Cllr Graham Chrystie, seconded the nomination of Knaphill councillor Saj Hussain as deputy Mayor for the year.

Ian Eastwood, who has just retired as a Goldsworth Park councillor after 28 years, was presented with a certificate and a decanter and wine glasses to recognise his long service to the community.

The Council comes together again on 20 May to agree committee allocations for the year.

The 10 strong Liberal Democrat Group
Woking Lib Dem Coumcillors May 2019

Retired councillor Ian Eastwood received a certificate to recognise 28 years of service

Retired councillor Ian Eastwood 28 years of service